[LUNI] OT: comcast problem
Janine Starykowicz
jrstark at barntowire.com
Sat Apr 14 18:50:29 CDT 2007
What do you mean by vanity? It sounds like she is using her website
email with the sbc mail server. That is the default setup, I vaguely
remember having to ask for an open port back when I first set up DSL so
I could use my own mail server.
Janine
sjk wrote:
> Carey Tyler Schug wrote:
>
>> Comcast does not recognize the following email address (this is a vanity
>> email address, forwarded to some other address, possibly sbcglobal)
>>
>> lyn at mindfullivingcoach.com
>>
>>
>> One time she sent an email with an sbcglobal return address, so I have
>> been able to respond, but it requires manually entering the other email.
>>
>> I have complained to the owner (Lyn) but she ignores me (she responds,
>> but ignores the issue with the email name not working). The email
>> address is what she uses as the sender from a bulk newsletter email list.
>>
>> If a few of you want to try send a test message to see if YOUR isp will
>> find them, please feel free.
>>
>> I have checked:
>> gmail: works
>> yahoo: works
>> myway: fails
>> juno: fails
>> hotmail: fails (hotmail only said it failed, it gave no reason why).
>>
>> Does anybody know of a general pattern of some ISPs not finding some
>> domains, at least for email?
>>
>> zoneedit.com dns lookup finds the domain as follows:
>>
>> mindfullivingcoach.com. A 209.124.84.34
>>
>>
>> mindfullivingcoach.com NS ns1.mtdserver.com.
>> mindfullivingcoach.com NS ns2.mtdserver.com.
>>
>>
>>
>>
> Well, if the DNS server is not reachable the recursive will mark it
> NXDomain for a while. This domain seems to have the ns records screwy:
>
> mindfullivingcoach.com. 14135 IN NS ns1.mtdserver.com.
>
> ;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
> ns1.mtdserver.com. 86206 IN A 209.124.84.34
> ns2.mtdserver.com. 172563 IN A 209.124.84.34
>
> mindfullivingcoach.com. 14400 IN NS ns1.mtdserver.com.
>
> ;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
> ns1.mtdserver.com. 86400 IN A 209.124.84.34
> ns2.mtdserver.com. 86400 IN A 209.124.84.35
>
> the ns whois records for name servers point to 209.124.84.34. . . my
> guess is that this is one box which they attempted to multi-home and may
> have some questionable reliability.
>
>
>
More information about the luni
mailing list